The challenge of caring

by Antonia

Taking Action: Deborah's blog

This blog was supposed to be all about my fundraising for younger bowel cancer patients and the reasons why I’ve embarked on the challenge – but I’d rather like to morph it a bit.  I plan now to interweave some posts on other topics as they grab my attention, in-between posts on Bowel Cancer UK‘s Never Too Young campaign and my own attempts at fundraising so here goes….

“Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a
listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all
of which have the potential to turn a life around.”

Leo Buscaglia

Image

Recently I became aware of this wonderful painting by Goya ‘Self Portrait with Dr. Arrieta’ painted in 1820.  Apparently in his early 70s, Goya was very unwell but was so impressed by the care of his doctor that he painted it in…

View original post 3,166 more words

