Self Injury Awareness Day (SIAD)

by Antonia

It was ‘Self Injury Awareness Day’ a couple of days ago (1st March) and there were so many information and support on Twitter and other social media sites which was lovely to see. Check out this article on the myths of self injury and also watch Gracie’s Youtube videos  (Youtuber known as UglyFaceofBeauty) where she talks about her experiences with self harming.

Check out her very encouraging post on her blog;

“Mental health is still a taboo subject but I will forever speak about it because it is such a big part of my life. I am no longer ashamed to say I suffer from depression or that I developed an eating disorder due to being bullied about my weight. Are you with me? I need all the help I can get to change this stigma.”

Also watch Jenny’s (a Young Carer Support Activist) video on self harming and mental health. Additionally under Jenny’s video (description box) you will find helpful numbers and organizations that can help you:

Check her interview with me here.

I’m sure it was difficult for the ladies to talk about their experiences, but i commend them for speaking out and showing others they can get through self-Injury also. Remember you are not alone and please get the help you need there’s nothing to be ashamed of. *Tight hugs and best wishes* xoxo

