What Not To Say To Someone With Mental Health Problems

by Antonia

leftypudding

I’ve had people say lots of things to me that were hurtful, distressing, or just plain uncomfortable. Many of the comments were not with bad intentions just lack of information so this is supposed to be a general guide. However of course I can only really speak for myself. Please remember though that if someone reacts badly to a probing question or comment, that even though you might think “well I didn’t mean anything bad by it, I was just trying to help” or “I was just wondering, why get so defensive?” this is a human being. This is a human being that is having health issues and health issues by their very nature can be personal. They can be upsetting. Some people are private people and do not want to be probed and it is not their job to make sure they’re constantly schooling other people in how to…

View original post 717 more words

