Do you mean a carer or a care worker?

by Antonia

Carers Lewisham

This week at work I got told off by the head honcho.

During a conversation, I used the word “carer” to describe the person who will come in three times a day to assist my dad when he is discharged from hospital.

I am a carer working for an organisation supporting unpaid carers, and I still made the mistake.

So what’s the difference?

Care Worker

noun

British

  • a person employed to support and supervise vulnerable, infirm, or disadvantaged people, or those under the care of the state.

Carer

noun

British

  • a person of any age who provides unpaid support to family or friends who could not manage without this help. This could be caring for a relative, partner or friend who is ill, frail, disabled or has mental health or substance misuse problems.

The definition of these two roles may seem very similar, and indeed many of the tasks carried…

View original post 377 more words

