Young Carers Day Out

by Antonia

Dedication Takes A Lifetime

I don’t normally blog about my day out but I promised myself I would use this blog not only for myself, but also to make people aware of Young Carers.

I have been a carer for my dad for years and in short, there is an organisation (CrossRoads UK) that takes us on us young carers out on day trips, gives us breaks from carers, advice and support, and help with finding jobs, colleges/universities etc. There is three groups, 8-10yr old, 10-15yr olds, and the young adult carers which I am in, 15-25yr olds.

Today we went on a trip to Carsington Waters in the Peak District. At first, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect, a lake with nothing to do was my first thought.

It turned out to be quite a journey there, but the scenery was so worth it!! The Derbyshire hills are so beautiful, and would…

View original post 160 more words

