What to do when you wake up worrying?

by Antonia

Moments with Autism

I woke up one morning madly worried about Liam. Normally I worry in the middle of the night. I wake up – start to worry, about Liam, about Rebecca (my NT daughter), about my mum (who is ill), about money (never enough of that, of course) – and don’t get back to sleep for 2 hours or so. But then when I wake in the morning I am generally OK. I think about what I was worrying about and with the morning seratonin beaming in on me, I dismiss them. ‘we’ll get through,’ I say, with that blind optimism that humans need to survive this crazy life.

But this time I woke worrying. Why? How can I get through the day if I start off worried?

Liam is 14 and has autism. He is ‘classic’. Bonefide. He’s no aspie. He’s no ADHD kid. He’s no late talker. He’s not just…

View original post 294 more words

