Reaching Out

by Antonia

Fierce Compassion

My mental health problems result in a variety of consequences, but one of the hardest ones to deal with is social isolation. Friendships tend to be hard for me to navigate, and social anxiety makes going out to events extremely difficult so it’s not easy to maintain the friendships I do have. Unsurprisingly, I rely heavily on online social networks, and have found the mental health community on Twitter to be especially supportive over the last four years or so.
When I started my nursing course in 2013, I was faced with a dilemma- Twitter seemed to be the place to keep up with the nursing profession (due largely to the success of @WeNurses), but I had been openly writing about my mental health there for several years. I thought about making a separate, professional account and running both in parallel but the details I had already shared about…

View original post 601 more words

