Carers Week: Bethany’s story

by Antonia

The Big Lottery Fund Blog

To mark Carers Week 2015, we’re looking at how the challenges faced by young carers effect their own lives.

lynne&bethanyBethany Hodgson, who receives support from Tyne & Wear Crossroads, sees caring for her mother and younger brother as only part of the challenge.

“It’s a split job, my mum would share duties with regards to my brother, but sometimes I’m not well enough myself. For me, my own health issues have to be put back, as my mum and my brother’s are the priority.

“If I spoke about my home situation to people outside of Crossroads they wouldn’t understand, and be like ‘You shouldn’t be doing that’. If you speak to somebody here they will understand. We all help to support each other by giving each other the chance to be normal.

“I’ve probably got more friends through here than anywhere else. Through school or college you might have one…

View original post 220 more words

